Go to content

British diving team for the European Championships announced

Great Britain have announced the diving team that will take part in next month's European Aquatics Championships in Rome. Among the 14 British athletes selected there will be the six medallists from the recent world championships in Budapest: Anthony Harding, James Heatly, Jack Laugher, Grace Reid, Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix and Noah Williams.

For the British team, the European event, scheduled at the iconic Foro Italico swimming stadium from 11 to 21 August 2022, will be the end of a season full of important international major events, after the Budapest world championships in June and before the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from 28 July to 8 August.

The mixed team event from the 3m springboard and the 10m platform will officially open the diving competition programme on 15 August, which will continue until 21 August with a total of 13 gold medal decisions, including individual events, the men's and women's synchro events from the 3m springboard and the 10m platform, and the individual events from the 1m springboard and the mixed 3m and 10m synchro.

Jack Laugher will be competing in Rome as a true star, after making history in Budapest by becoming the first British diver to win three medals, all silver, in a single world championship: in the individual event from the 1m springboard and 3m springboard and, paired with new partner Anthony Harding, in the men's synchronised event.

Ben Cutmore, who will represent Team England in Birmingham, will make his international debut, while Yasmin Harper, Amy Rollinson and Desharne Bent-Ashmeil are set to gain further international experience after the world championships. Among them there will also be Lois Toulson, who is European silver medallist in the women's 10m synchro platform.

Tim Jones, the British Swimming Associate Performance Director, says: "We are very excited to see our divers competing again in Rome in such an extraordinary venue, with world-class athletes and young talent eager to gain more competitive experience.”

The GBR diving team

Ben Cutmore, Matthew Dixon, Anthony Harding, James Heatly, Jordan Houlden, Jack Laugher, Noah Williams

Desharne Bent-Ashmeil, Yasmin Harper, Scarlett Mew-Jensen, Grace Reid, Amy Rollinson, Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix, Lois Toulson

Photos Giorgio Perottino / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto Use of photographs is only permitted for publications registered for editorial purposes. Credits must be mentioned.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email