Go to content

McSharry leads the Irish swimming team at Roma 2022

Swim Ireland Performance, the Irish swimming federation, announced that the European Aquatics Championships in Rome will be their most important competition among the international events scheduled for this summer. Eighteen athletes have been selected in the squad to compete from 11 to 17 August at the Foro Italico pool.

The team will be led by Tokyo 2020 Olympic swimming finalist Mona McSharry. The 21-year-old athlete, who was the women’s 100m breaststroke bronze at the Abu Dhabi 2021 World Short-Course Championships, will be joined by Ellen Walshe, the 400m individual medley silver medallist in the same competition, and eight out of the nine Tokyo Olympians. The selected athletes will be at the Barcelona and Canet-en-Roussillon stages of the Mare Nostrum to prepare for the continental competition.

The national team’s staff comprises Steven Beckerleg, who is the head coach for the male athletes, John Szaranek who will be responsible for the female athletes, and Jon Rudd as National performance director and team leader.

"After the great success of the Olympics and the World Short Course Championships in 2021," Jon Rudd said. "It is time for our athletes to once again advance swimming at an international level. Our senior team for Rome is strong. We wish all our athletes and their coaches the best of preparation in the coming weeks."

The complete list

Victoria Catterson, Eoin Corby, Niamh Coyne, Liam Custer, Conor Ferguson, Darragh Greene, Danielle Hill, Grace Hodgins, Brendan Hyland, Molly Mayne, Max McCusker, Finn McGeever, Jack McMillan, Mona McSharry, Robert Powell, Shane Ryan, Jordan Sloan, Ellen Walshe.

DBM Photos / The use of photographs is permitted only and exclusively to publications registered for editorial purposes. Obligatory mention of credits.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email