Go to content

LEN Awards 2021

The LEN member federations and LEN Officials cast their votes to choose Europe’s best aquatic athletes (2020 was skipped for obvious reasons). Adam Peaty (35.5%) confirms himself as the best European swimmer, winning his fourth LEN Award, while Sweden’s Sarah Sjostom earns her third recognition. Dutch open water swimmer Sharon van Rouwendaal (57.1%) and British diver Tom Daley (76.6%) finish first for the fourth time. The platform champion, after the Olympic gold medal (with Matt Lee in the synchro) and the third place in the individual event, is the athlete who reaches the absolute highest number of votes.

Two German athletes claim their first LEN Award: Tina Punzel (62.6%) in the best female diver and Florian Wellbrock (55.6%) in the best male open water swimmer.

It is Russia all the way in artistic swimming with Svetlana Kolesnichenko (35.6%) and Aleksandr Maltsev (66.7%).

Waterpolo was the only discipline, where solely the Olympics determines the choices of the voters. The Tokyo gold medallist Serb males and the silver medallist Spanish females dominated the voting. The captain Filip Filipovic is picked ahead of fellow leftie Dusan Mandic, claimed his 5th LEN Award. Among the women, Beatriz Ortiz gets the majority of the votes.

Full ranking on LEN

Photo credits DBM.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email